TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

MEETING MINUTES

Of February 21, 2025

<u>Call to Order:</u> TPB Chair Renard Johnson called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:47 a.m. at the Blue Flame Building, 17th Floor (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901, and also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
Renard Johnson (Chair)	Mayor, City of El Paso	Joseph Cervantes	NM State Senator, District 31
2. César J. Blanco (Vice-Chair)	TX State Senator	Sarah Silva	NM State Representative District 53
3. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT El Paso District	Eddie Morales	TX State Representative – 74th District
4. Ramon Cano	Mayor, Town of Clint	Yvette Hernandez	City Engineer, COEP
5. Miguel Chacon	Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX	Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District
6. Anthony Dekeyzer	Director, Sun Metro (COEP)	Claudia Ordaz	TX State Representative – 76th District
7. Anthony Turner	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX	Rachel Quintana	Mayor, Village of Vinton
8. Alejandra Chavez	City of El Paso Representative - District 1	Art Fierro	City of El Paso Representative – District 6
9. Diana Murillo	Mayor, Anthony, NM	Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM
10. Chris Canales	City of El Paso Representative – District 8		
11. Dionne Mack	City Manager, City of El Paso		
12. Tony Nevarez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport		
13. Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3		
14. Jose Landeros	Deputy County Administrator, El Paso County	MPO STAFF	
15. Aaron Chavarria	District Engineer, NMDOT	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
16. Walter Miller	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
17. Rudy Cruz	City of Socorro, District 3 Representative	Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
18. Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District	Nina Rodriguez	Transportation Planner
19. Gloria Gameros	County Commissioner, Doña Ana County	Jennifer Moreno	Transportation Planner
20. Ricardo Samaniego	Judge, El Paso County	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
21. Vince Perez	TX State Representative – 77th District	Anne Guayante	Regional Transportation Manager
22.		Marisol Enriquez	Administrative Secretary
23.		Andres Lucero	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst

(Meeting began with 20 members)

• No Public Comment: No member of the public signed up for Initial Public Comment

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

1. Consider approval of the minutes of the January 24, 2025 TPB meeting.

Presenter: TPB Chair

Motion to approve the minutes of the January 24, 2025 TPB meeting made by Commissioner Iliana Holguin and seconded by Mayor Renard Johnson. Motion passed unanimously

2. Consider approval of the El Paso MPO's Annual Financial Report, performed by the external auditing firm of Macias, Gini & O'Connell LLP, for the Year ended August 31, 2024.

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)

Motion to approve El Paso MPO's Annual Financial Report, performed by the external auditing firm of Macias, Gini & O'Connell LLP, for the Year ended August 31, 2024 made by Jose Landeros and seconded by Mayor Rudy Cruz. Motion passed unanimously

3. Consider approval of amendments to the Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Amended RMS 2050 MTP, and the RMS 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to program the *Montana Brio Corridor - Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) Feasibility Study* project using \$750,000 of Category 3 USDOT Rebuilding American Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (RAISE) Program funds in Fiscal Year (FY) 2025.*

Presenter: Andres Lucero (MPO)

Motion to approve amendments to the Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP), Amended RMS 2050 MTP, and the RMS 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to program the Montana Brio Corridor - Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) Feasibility Study project using \$750,000 of Category 3 USDOT Rebuilding American Infrastructure with Sustainability and Equity (RAISE) Program funds in Fiscal Year (FY) 2025.* made by Jose Landeros and seconded by Commissioner Iliana Holguin. Motion passed unanimously

4. Consider approval of an amendment to the RMS 2050 MTP, Amended RMS 2050 MTP, and the RMS 2025-2028 TIP to program the *Border Highway Connector Phase 2 Traffic Impact and Improvements Analysis Feasibility Study* project using \$2,000,000 in New Mexico state funds in Fiscal Year 2025.*

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)

Motion to approve amendment to the RMS 2050 MTP, Amended RMS 2050 MTP, and the RMS 2025-2028 TIP to program the Border Highway Connector Phase 2 Traffic Impact and Improvements Analysis Feasibility Study project using \$2,000,000 in New Mexico state funds in Fiscal Year 2025* made by Walter Miller and seconded by Ramon Cano. Motion passed unanimously.

5. Consider approval of an amendment to the EPMPO FY 2024-25 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) to add Work Subtask 5.6 Border Highway Connector Phase 2 Traffic Impact and Improvements Analysis Feasibility Study*

Presenter: Harrison Plourde (MPO)

Motion to approve amendment to the EPMPO FY 2024-25 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) to add Work Subtask 5.6 Border Highway Connector Phase 2 Traffic Impact and Improvements Analysis Feasibility Study*made by Representative Chris Canales and seconded by Judge Ricardo Samaniego. Motion passed unanimously

6. Consider providing a recommendation to the City of El Paso Mass Transit Board to execute the *Interlocal Agreement for Service Expansion* between the City of El Paso and South Central Regional Transit Agency (SCRTD), in accordance with the Sun Metro Service Expansion Policy.

Presenter: Harrison Plourde (MPO)

Motion to approve recommendation to the City of El Paso Mass Transit Board to execute the *Interlocal Agreement for Service Expansion* between the City of El Paso and South Central Regional Transit Agency (SCRTD), in accordance with the Sun Metro Service Expansion Policy meeting made by Mayor Diana Murillo and seconded by Judge Ricardo Samaniego. Motion passed unanimously

7. Consider approval of submission of legal counsel opinion and a resolution authorizing the submission of El Paso MPO applications with the Federal Transit Administration for funding assistance relating to federal transportation.

Presenter: TPB Chair

Motion to approve submission of legal counsel opinion and a resolution authorizing the submission of El Paso MPO applications with the Federal Transit Administration for funding assistance relating to federal transportation made by Walter Miller and seconded by Commissioner Iliana Holguin. Motion passed unanimously

8. Discussion on El Paso MPO staff operations and compensation.

Presenter: TPB Chair

9. Discuss the Executive Director's Annual Performance Evaluation for Year 2024 self-evaluation form and next steps.

Presenter: TPB Chair

No action

REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

10. Borderplex Safe Mobility Plan progress update.

Presenter: Anne Guayante (MPO)

- *Chair Mayor Renard Johnson open for public comment
- 1. Scott White commented
- * Chair Mayor Renard Johnson closed public comment
- 11. Executive Director's Report
 - a. Borderland Expressway Phase 1 Ribbon-Cutting
 - b. Texas Transportation Commission meeting, January 30, 2025
 - c. TxDOT's Draft Fiscal Year 2026 Unified Transportation Program (UTP)

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (EPMPO Executive Director)

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:30 a.m.</u> on <u>March 21, 2025</u>, at the at Blue Flame Building, Floor 17 (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Ave, El Paso, TX 79901

6. Adjournment.

Adjournment at 10:22 a.m.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the

Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area